Art Gallery

Artworks

Avatar Orchestra Metaverse Live: Breathing Cyberspace

October 21, 2020 19:00 UTC / 12 noon Pacific / 3 pm EDT / 21:00 CET
Live video will be shown here in the Art Gallery. To view with participation in the live discussion, register here.

·

 Hosted by Digital Arts Resource Centre, Ottawa Canada for Independent Media Arts Alliance Digital Shift Victoria Canada, and Manifestations 2020, Eindhoven, Netherlands.

Breathing Cyberspace is a multi-located collective performance with dreaming spinning avatars inside telematic virtual brains, an audiovisual spectral fantasy by Tina M. Pearson, and a discussion with Avatar Orchestra members, all coming live from within the virtual environment Second Life. “[Avatar Orchestra’s] unique performance pushes the boundaries of online interaction, the utility of [multi-user worlds] and aural perceptions of virtual environments.” –Vektor Festival, Toronto

Please wear headphones or use high quality external speakers for the best aural experience.

·

About Avatar Metaverse Orchestra

—–

WASH AND FOLD

Created by Farheen HaQ

About the artist

·

About “WASH AND FOLD: REVELATORY HOUSEKEEPING IN AN AGE OF PANDEMIC AND RACIAL INJUSTICE”

“Wash and Fold” is an intimate look at the ideas and practices that are currently shaping Farheen HaQ’s artistic practice. She shares with viewers how ideas take seed for her and the processes she works through to emerge with images, symbols, gestures and forms. Farheen’s latest works transform pain and family histories: a bundle of lentils puts to rest internalized patriarchy; a bar of soap constructed for washing in tandem embodies forgiveness. This video work is an inside view into Farheen’s studio practice which illuminates politics and the world context as it lives in her body and family.

—–